The Land God Gave to Cain

Ian Ferguson learns that his father’s death was precipated by an S.O.S. radioed from the Labrador peninsula. The mystery is that the message came from a man believed to be dead, victim of a fiery crash during an earlier geological expedition.

Ian sets out across Canada’s desolate north. Here he unravels the mystery surrounding the expedition and its bizarre connection with his grandfather’s murder some 50 years before.



Last piece

Ralph Hammond Innes was an English novelist who wrote over 30 novels, as well as children’s and travel books.He was awarded a C.B.E. (Commander, Order of the British Empire) in 1978. Innes went on to produce books in a regular sequence, with six months of travel and research followed by six months of writing.

Reading him feels like going back to that early days of middle school when you read just about anything, and fall in love at the most adventureous plot there is. During his life Innes was constantly hailed as “a storyteller of the old school”, yet he is a man who wrote absorbing and exciting books and expressed in them, and in his own way of living, a genuinely life-enhancing philosophy. To capture a vivid tale, he would take himself to the place where his stories unfold, making his books so hard to put, once you start.

Other titles from Hammond Innes: The Air Bridge

Weight .2 kg


Browse Wishlist
Shopping cart